Prime News Ghana

14-member National EPA Advisory Council inaugurated

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry Herbert Krapa has inaugurated a 14-member National EPA Advisory Council.

This forms part of the institutional arrangements for the implementation of the EPA.

Institutions on the Council include MFARI, MOFA, FAGE, Customs Division of GRA, GEPA, GSA, among others.

The responsibility of the Advisory Council is to monitor the progress of Ghana’s iEPA and Accompanying Measures and providing strategic guidance on project implementation and compliance with applicable legislation, regulations and standards.

The Council is chaired by the Minister for Trade and Industry, Alan Kyerematen and is scheduled to meet twice a year.

Ghana is currently implementing the EU-Ghana interim EPA, a trade and development agreement, signed and ratified in 2016.

The agreement seeks to promote trade by reducing trade barriers and tariffs imposed on imports of products originating in the EU and Ghana.