Prime News Ghana

Bagre Dam spillage: Here are the 28 districts set to be affected

By primenewsghana
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Twenty-eight districts in seven regions are expected to be directly affected by the ongoing Bagre Dam spillage.

The National Disaster Management Organisation (NADMO) in a statement outlined the five Northern Regions, the Northern parts of the Oti Region and the Afram Plains of the Eastern Region in this regard.

The spillage of the Bagre dam from neighbouring Burkina Faso is done annually to prevent any breakage of the dam’s banks.

“The consequences of this spillage downstream in Ghana is the possible overflow of the banks of the White and Black Volta,” NADMO noted in the statement.

READ ALSO: Benkum SHS: Teacher receives death threats after sex video with student leaks

In this regard, NADMO has again urged all communities along the banks of these Rivers to move to higher grounds and Safe Havens identified in the affected Regions.

NADMO has partnered with the Marine Police and the 48 Engineers Regiment of the Ghana Army and will pitch camp at Walewale in the North-East Region.

The organisation has in the past struggled to come up with adequate relief items to cater for all persons who may be affected by the spillage.

The affected districts are:


1. Karaga District

2. Nanumba South District

3. Tolon District

4. Kumbugu District

5. Savelugu Municpal

6. Nanton District

7. Yendi Municipal


8. Bawku West District

9. Binduri District

10. Talensi District


11. Nandon District

12. Lawra Municipal

13. Nadowli District

14. Wa West District


15. East Mamprusi Municipal

16. West Mamprusi Municipal

17. Mamprugu Moagduri District

18. Chereponi District

19. Bunkpurugu/Nakpanduri District


20. East Gonja Municipal

21. Bole District

22. West Gonja District


23. Nkwanta North District

24. Krachi East Municipal

25. Krachi West District

26. Krachi Nchumuru District


27. Kwahu Afram Plains North District

28. Kwahu Afram Plains South District