Prime News Ghana

Ruben Dias named Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year

By Vincent Ashitey
Ruben Dias
Ruben Dias
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Ruben Dias has been named the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year.

The Manchester City defender has starred for Pep Guardiola's side since joining them in a £63 million move from Benfica in the summer. 

The Portugal defender picked up more votes than Man City team-mate Kevin De Bruyne and Tottenham striker Harry Kane, to claim the honour.


What has Dias achieved for City?

Dias has been a crucial part of Pep Guardiola's side as they won the Premier League title back from Liverpool.

His presence in the first-team shored up a defence that had been leaky in the early part of the season. They have now conceded just 32 goals in 37 games.

The 24-year-old has also helped City reach the Champions League final for the first time in their history.

READ ALSO: Daniel Amartey's actions motivated us to 'punish' Leicester - Chelsea defender

What is the FWA Footballer of the Year award?

It's an annual award that is given to the player who has had the best season in English football. It has a long history, stretching back to the 1947-48 campaign.

That season the award was given to legendary winger Stanley Matthews, who was playing for Blackpool.

The winner of the award is decided by members of the Football Writers' Association, a body of around 400 football journalists around England.

Dias is the 74th winner of the award.

Who are the significant recent winners?

Jordan Henderson won the award in the 2019-20 season after leading Liverpool to the Premier League title.

Raheem Sterling picked it up in 2018-19 after his contribution to City winning the league, while Mohamed Salah won it in 2017-18 after his stunning campaign in front of goal.