Prime News Ghana

The CAF Confederation Cup tournament explained

By Vincent Ashitey
The CAF Confederation Cup tournament explained
The CAF Confederation Cup tournament explained

The CAF Confederation Cup which is a merger of CAF Winners’ Cup and CAF Cup and is an annual club association football competition organised by the Confederation of African Football since 2004. It is the second-tier competition of African club football, ranking below the CAF Champions League.

CAF allows 12 participating countries to present two clubs, which are the National Cup winner and third in their respective national leagues. The 12 countries are determined yearly according to a ranking system devised by CAF.

The first part of the competition which is divided into rounds is a knockout stage played on home and away basis. 

Winners of the last round of this part play against the losers of CAF Champions League last round to determine the group stage teams.

The group stage is composed of 8 teams divided into 2 groups of 4 and played against each other in a round-robin home and away system.

The top two from each group qualify for the semifinals before the final to win a trophy and prize money.

The winner of the tournament gets prize money of 1.25million dollars while the runner up takes home 625 million dollars, also the

semi-finalists and quarter-finalists 450 million and 350 million respectively.

Tunisia clubs Étoile du Sahel and Tunisia CS Sfaxien with 4 titles each are the most successful clubs in the history of the comptition.

The winner of the CAF Confederation Cup plays as a guest in the CAF Super Cup against the champion of the CAF Champions League in a one-off match.

Read also: Kotcompetition Felix Annan: I started career as a striker

Latest sports news in Ghana