UEFA explains Man United handball decision in Champions League
European governing body, UEFA has issued a statement to explain the penalty decision awarded to Manchester United against PSG in the last-16 stage of the Champions League.
With the aid of Video Assistant Referee (VAR), referee Damir Skomina awarded Manchester United the spot kick which sealed their passage to the quarter-final stage after Diogo Dalot shot struck the arm of PSG's defender Presnel Kimpembe
A Decision PSG players protested during and after the game. UEFA has, however, come clear on why Referee Damir Skomina made the penalty call.
"Following the on-field review, the referee confirmed that the distance that the ball travelled was not short and the impact could therefore not be unexpected."
"The defender's arm was not close to the body, which made the defender's body bigger thus resulting in the ball being stopped from travelling in the direction of the goal. The referee, therefore, awarded a penalty kick," an official statement read.