Prime News Ghana

Kotoko wins 5 awards at Ghana Football Awards 2022

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Ghana Premier League champions Asante Kotoko won the most awards at the 2022 edition of the Ghana Football Awards.

The event, which took place at the Grand Arena, Conference Centre saw Alexander Djiku also win the Foreign-based Footballer of the Year and Footballer of the Year awards.

The Strasbourg defender beat competition from Thomas Partey (Arsenal), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City) and Mohammed Salisu (Southampton) and goalkeeper, Jojo Wollacott to clinch the top prize.

AS Roma’s Felix Afena Gyan was also named the winner of the Odartey Lamptey Future Star award on the night.

Below is the Full-list of winners

Men's Coach of the Year — Prosper Narteh Ogum (Asante Kotoko)
Women's Coach of the Year — Joe Nana Adarkwa (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)
Female Team of the Year — Ampem Darkoa Ladies
Male team of the Year — Asante Kotoko
 Female Team of the Year — Ampem Darkoa Ladies FC
Living Legend Award — Abedi Ayew Pele 
Special Fan(s) Award — Porcupine Tertiary (Asante Kotoko)
Thumbs up Award — Richard Duah Nsemkyire (Samartex FC)
Thumbs up Award — Tom Vernon (Right to Dream Academy)
Best African International — Sadió Mane (Senegal/Bayern Munich)
CEO of the Year — Nana Yaw Amponsah (Asante Kotoko)
Goalkeeper of the Year — Iddrisu Abdulai (Bechem United) 

Most Vibrant Club on Social media — Asante Kotoko

Goal of the Year — Mizak Asante (Golden Kicks FC) 

Home-based Footballer of the Year — Yaw Annor (AshantiGold SC)

Ghana Premier League GoalKing — Yaw Annor

Women's Footballers of the Year — Grace Asantewaa (Real Betis)

 Odartey Lamptey Future Star Award — Felix Afena-Gyan (AS Roma)
Foreign-based Footballer of the Year — Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC)
Footballer of the Year — Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC)