Prime News Ghana

Ministerial reshuffle: NPP grateful to Akufo-Addo

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The leadership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has lauded President Akufo-Addo for the major shakeup of his government.

The party in a statement signed by General Secretary Justin Kodua, expressed gratitude and appreciation to the President for what they describe as a decisive government reshuffle, which includes the appointment of new Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives (MMDCEs), Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

According to the NPP, the decision to reshuffle the appointees underscores the President’s commitment to fostering progress and revitalizing our administration.

While the party expressed its appreciation for the dedication and service of those departing, it congratulated the new appointees and urged them to bring forth innovative ideas and unwavering dedication to serve the good people of Ghana.

Akufo-Addo on Wednesday, February 14, 2024 announced a major ministerial reshuffle.

A press release from the presidency on Wednesday, February 14, confirmed that Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta has been replaced by Dr. Mohammed Amin Anta, Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.


The Health Minister, Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, is also leaving his position for Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye, current CEO of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA).

Interior Minister, Ambrose Dery, is also vacating his position for Henry Quartey, current Greater Accra Regional Minister.


Minister for Information, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, will be heading to the Ministry of Works and Housing as Deputy Minister of Information, while Fatima Abubakar takes over from her boss.

Meanwhile, the Minister for Works and Housing, Asenso Boakye goes to the Ministry of Road and Highways in place of Kwasi Amoako-Atta.

Member of Parliament for Tema East, Titus Glover, will be taking over as the Greater Accra Regional Minister while Deputy Minister for Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development, Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah, takes over from his boss Dan Botwe.


Member of Parliament for Ayawaso West Wuogon, Seyram Alhassan is the new Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources, taking over from Freda Prempeh.