Team Ghana departs for Commonwealth Youth Games on Saturday

By Michael Abayateye
Mr. Afadzinu(left) addressing the media

A thirteen-member team including athletics and officials will leave Accra on Saturday for the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in Bahamas.

Ghana would be represented by 12 athletes and 11 officials as they hope to make the nation proud at the Games scheduled for July 19 to July 23. 

The athletes for the seven disciplines include swimming sensations, Abeiku Jackson and Kaya Adwoa Forson, Tennis players Emmanuel Nyan Plange and Marian Ibrahim, 400-metre runner Rafiatu Nuhu, Beach volley players Kelvin Katey Carboo and Eric Tsatsu, Cyclists Solomon Tagoe and Gabriel Tettey, Boxers Alfred Kotey and Philip Quartey as well as judoka Emmanuel Kemevor.

The officials are Noah Bagerbaseh Bukari (tennis), Kodwo Abbiw Jackson (swimming), Moro Mumuni (beach volley ), Theophilus Edzie (Technical Personnel), Vincent Akai Netty, (boxing), Dennis Kweku Moore (cycling official), Joyce Boatey-Asyei (athletics coach), Martin Engmann (team doctor), Benedict Owusu (press attache) as well as Richard Akpokavie (Secretary General GOC) and Robert Sarfo Mensah (Chief Executive of the National Sports Authority).