Prime News Ghana

2020 elections: Twelve aspirants qualify, five disqualified from presidential race

By Justice Kofi Bimpeh
Jean Mensa
Jean Mensa
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Twelve presidential candidates have been given the approval to contest the 2020 general elections.

This was made known by the EC boss Jean Mensa today in Accra.

Five of the 17 candidates who submitted their nomination forms have been disqualified.

The EC said it will refund the GH¢100,000 filing fee of the five disqualified aspirants.
EC Chair Jean Mensa who announced this said even though these five have been disqualified their monies will be given back to them.

"Your filing fees of GH¢100,000 will be refunded to you".

The five include two independent presidential nominees; Kofi Koranteng and Marricke Kofi Gane, and three political party-sponsored nominees; Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP), Kwasi Busumbru of the People’s Action Party (PAP), and Nana Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP).

Below is the full list of presidential candidates who sailed through:

Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker – Independent candidate
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo – NPP
Christian Kwabena Andrews – GUM
Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku – PPP
John Dramani Mahama – NDC
Akua Donkor – GFP
Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings – NDP
Hassan Ayariga – APC
Ivor Kobina Greenstreet – CPP
Henry Herbert Lartey – GCPP
Percival Kofi Akpaloo – LPG
David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera – PNC