Prime News Ghana

Akufo-Addo appoints Regional, Deputy Ministers for the six new regions

By Mutala Yakubu
new regions
Prez Akufo-Addo appoints Regional,Deputy Ministers for the six new regions
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

President Akufo-Addo has appointed Regional and deputy regional Ministers for the six (6) newly created regions.

A referendum was held for the creation of six new regions and that was done successfully.

The President earlier this month presented a Constitutional Instrument (CI) for the creation of the new regions.

The six newly created regions are West North Region, Bono East Region, Ahafo Region, Savannah Region, North East Region and Oti Region.

President Akufo-Addo appointed interim Ministers to preside over the regions but have now appointed substantive regional and deputy regional ministers.

In a released signed by Eugene Arhin who is the Director of Communications at the Presidency, named Mrs Evelyn Ama Kumi-Richardson, currently, Chief Executive for Sunyani Municipality as the Minister-designate for Bono Region.

The much talked about Oti region will be presided over by Kwasi Owusu Yeboah, Ghana's Ambassador to the Togolese Republic.

The others are Hon Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu who is the Minister-designate for Western North Region,  Hon. Solomon Namliit Boar, Minister-designate for North East Region, Hon Salifu Adam Braimah, Minister-designate for Savannah Region and Hon. Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere is Minister-designate for Ahafo Region.

The release added that the President is hopeful parliament will speed up the vetting of these Minister so they assume office.

Read also: