Prime News Ghana

University of Ghana Governing Council inaugurated

By Clement Edward Kumsah
university _of_ghana_governing_council
University of Ghana Governing Council
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

A 16-member Governing Council for the University of Ghana has been inaugurated to oversee the day-to-day administration of the University.

The Council, inaugurated by Education Minister, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh include five presidential appointees with Prof. Yaw Twumasi as the Chairman of the council.

The presidential appointees include  Prof. Yaw Twumasi- Chairman, Dr Ama Essel (Member), Prof. Akua Kuenyahia (Member), Prof. Yaa Ntiamoa-Baidu (Member), Prof. Baffour Agyeman-Duah (Member).

The representatives are; Vice Chancellor Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu, Rep UG Alumni Association Mr. Kwasi Yankey, Convocation (teaching staff) Prof. Kodzo Gavua, Convocation (Non-teaching staff) Mrs. Cynthia Adu, National Council for Tertiary Education Prof. Mohammed Salifu, A Vice-Chancellor of an African University Dr. Max Price, CHASS Mrs.Anastacia Thomford Okyere.

The rest include UG SRC representative Daniel Otting Awuah, GRASAG representative, Eric Oyeman Ato Brown, UTAG's  Dr Harry Lawson Kwaku Agbanu and TEWU's Mr Kenneth Botchway.

Meanwhile, the University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) has given the government 14-day ultimatum as a matter of urgency to set up the governing councils of public universities in the country. News