Prime News Ghana

Shirley Frimpong-Manso gets ‘Best Picture Editor’ award at AMVCA

Shirley Frimpong-Manso
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Shirley Nana Akua Frimpong-Manso won the award for Best Picture Editor at this year’s Africa Magic Viewers Choice held Saturday in Lagos.

Miss Frimpong-Manso’s win was a huge statement for Ghana, which failed to go home with a single award last year. The serial winner was not present to receive the award but took to Twitter to express her excitement.


In its 4th year, this year’s ceremony, which kicked off Friday evening with a nominees cocktail party, played host to key industry professionals drawn from the continent’s booming and emerging markets.

Still one of Africa’s biggest nights in movies, the AMVCA acknowledges the contribution made by Pan African filmmakers, actors and technicians to the success of the continent’s film & television industries. It honours the rich entrepreneurial and creative spirit of the African filmmaker.

Winners at tonight’s event received the prestigious AMVCA trophy.

The AMVCA is appreciated by the continent’s biggest players. Organizers maintain the scheme will endeavour to cultivate and inspire new talent within the various Pan African industries through its development programme. Content and technical Master Classes took place prior to the awards.

Ghana’s Patrick Asante of House of Eccentric lost out on the award for Best Costume Design for the Juliet-Asante-directed ‘Silverrain’ while Nana Mensah also lost in the Best Actress (Comedy) category. Juliet Asante missed out on winning the Best Movie in West Africa as well as the overall Best Movie award, which went to Stephanie Linus’ ‘Dry’.

Ghana’s nominated duo of Majid Michel and Van Vicker in the Best Actor (Drama) were beaten to it by Daniel K. Daniel for the movie ‘A Soldier’s Story’.

This year’s ceremony was hosted by South African beauty Minenhle Dlamini and IK Osakioduwa.


Best Art Director – Frank Raja Arase for “The Refugees”

Best TV Series – Ariyike Oladipo for “Daddy’s Girls”

Best Makeup Artist– Louiza Calore for “Ayanda”

Best Short Film – Oluseyi Amuwa for “A Day With Death”

Best Writer – Trish Malone for “Ayanda”

Best Lighting – Stanley Ohikuare for “Common Man”

Best Cinematography – Paul Michaelson for “Tell Me Sweet Something”

Best Sound Editor – Marquez Jose Guillermo for “Dry”

Best Picture Editor – Shirley Frimpong-Manso for “Rebecca”

Best Costume Design – Uche Nancy for “Dry”

Best Local Language (Swahili) – Single Mtambalike for “Kitendawali”

Best Local Language (Hausa) – Salisu Balarabe for “Dadin Kowa”

Best Local Language (Yoruba) – Abiodun Jomoh & Jumoke Odetola for “Binta Ofege”

Best Local Language (Igbo) – Paul Igwe for “Usekwu Igbo”

Best Documentary – Remi Vaughan Richards for “Faaji Agba”

Best Supporting Actor – Sambassa Nseribe for “A Soldier’s Story”

Best Supporting Actress – Tunbosun Aiyedehin “Before 30”

Best Actor (Comedy) – Folarin Falz Falana for “Jenifa’s Diary”

Best Actress (Comedy) – Funke Akindele for “Jenifa’s Diary”

2016 AMVCA Trailblazer – Kemi Lala Akindoju

2016 AMVCA Industry Merit Awards – Bukky Ajayi & Sadiq Daba

Best Movie (Southern Africa) – “Lilongwe” by Joyce Mhango Chavula

Best Movie (Eastern Africa) – “Mapenzi” by Elizabeth Michael

Best Movie (Western Africa) – “Road To Yesterday” by Chinny Onwugbenu, Genevieve Nnaji & Chichi Nwoko

Best Actress (Drama) – Adesua Etomi for “Falling”

Best Actor (Drama) – Daniel K. Daniel for “A Soldier’s Story”

Best Director – Akin Omotosho for “Tell Me Sweet Something”

Best Overall Movie – “Dry” by Stephanie Linus