Prime News Ghana

2024 elections: Asamoah Gyan leads Bawumia's Youth and Sports manifesto committee

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Former Black Stars captain Asamoah Gyan has been appointed by the flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, to serve on the NPP’s manifesto committee for the upcoming 2024 general elections.

Gyan will chair the Youth and Sports sub-committee within the committee.

Concurrently, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the Majority Leader who recently stepped down from his position, has been designated as the Chairman of the Committee.

The primary mandate of the committee is to conduct a comprehensive review of the party’s 2016 and 2020 manifestos. This review will involve engaging with various stakeholders to develop a pragmatic manifesto for the 2024 elections.

The announcement was made by Dennis Miracles Aboagye, Director of Communications for Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia’s campaign team, in a statement issued on Wednesday, February 21, 2024.

Below is the full manifesto committee:

1. Manifesto Committee
a. Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Chairman of the Manifesto Committee Chair
b. Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Vice-Chairman of the Manifesto Committee
c. Evron Hughes, Secretary of the Manifesto Committee

2. Manifesto Committee Coordinators
a. Prof. Kwaku Appiah Adu, Coordinator of the Manifesto Committee
b. Dr. Isaac Owusu Mensah, Coordinator of the Manifesto Committee

3. Manifesto Sub-committees Chairs
a. Dr. Assibey Yeboah, Economy
b. Tony Oteng Gyasi, Trade and Industry
c. Kwakwo Nsafoah Poku, Energy and Petroleum
d. William Oppong-Bio, Agriculture
e. Dr. Augustine Blay, Communication and Digitalization
f. Dr. Gideon Boako, Lands, Minerals, and Natural Resources
g. Dr. Emmanuel Marfo, Science, Technology, Innovation, and Environment
h. Maxwell Opoku Agyeman, Legal and Governance
i. Justinna Marigold, Local Government
j. Ing. Kwabena Agyapong, Housing and Infrastructure
k. Hassan Tampuli, Transport
l. Edward Asomani, Security
m. Michael Ocquaye, Jnr, Foreign Affairs
n. Asamoah Gyan, Youth and Sports
o. Juliet Asante, Tourism, Culture, and Creative Arts
p. Ama Serwaa, Gender
q. Kofi Dzamesi, Chieftaincy, Religious Affairs, and Civil Society
r. Dr. Ayew Afriyie, Health
s. Dr. Prince Hamid Armah, Education