Prime News Ghana

48th SWAG Awards: Full list of winners as Mohammed Kudus 2023 Personality of the Year

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The 48th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards was held on Friday, January 12, 2023, at the Accra International Conference Centre.

The awards scheme, which is the longest-running event in the country, was held to award the sportsmen and women who contributed immensely and brought honour to the country in the year 2023.

Black Stars and West Ham United star, Mohammed Kudus was the big winner on the night as he took home the Sports Personality of the Year and the Foreign-based Footballer of the Year awards.

The Multimedia Group's Gary Al-Smith was adjudged as the Sports Journalist of the Year for the year under review.

The 23-year-old retained the awards he claimed during the last edition beating James Dadzie to the Sports Personality of the Year.

Here are the full award winners from the 48th edition of the SWAG Awards gala:

Sports Personality of the Year

Mohammed Kudus

Footballer of the Year (Male)

Mohammed Kudus

Footballer of the Year (Female)
Princella Adubea

Footballer of the Year (Home-based)

Jonathan Sowah - Medeama

Footballer of the Year (Female, Home-based)
Comfort Yeboah - Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Athlete of the Year (Male)

James Dadzie

Athlete of the Year (Female)

Rose Yeboah Amoanimaa

Amateur Boxer of the Year

Abraham Mensah

Club of the Year

Medeama SC

Coach of the Year

Augustine Evans Adotey - Medeama SC

National Team of the Year
Black Challenge (Amputee Team)

Administrator of the Year
Mawuko Afadzinu - Ghana Table Tennis Association

Discovery of the Year

Evelyn Dzato

Armwrestler of the Year

Grace Mintah

Table Tennis Player of the Year

Joanita Borteye – Table Tennis

Tennis Player of the Year

Abraham Asaba

Volleyball Player of the Year

Rashaka Katadat - Ghana Army

Swimmer of the Year

Zaira Forson

Para-Athlete of the Year

Haruna Tahiru

Dedication and Valour

Cudjoe Fianoo
Nana Fosu Gyeabour
Agartha Hagan
Joseph Addo

SWAG Top 5 Federations
Ghana Table Tennis

Ghana Tennis

Ghana Boxing Authority

Ghana Athletics 

Ghana Football Association

Long Service Award
Roseline Amoh
Maurice Quansah
Sammy Haywood Okine
George Kuntu Blankson
Barima Otuo Acheampong

Lifetime Achievement Award

K Hlodzie – Handball
Rtd Andy Sam – Football


Special and Meritorious Award
Herbert Mensah
Samson Deen
Moses Armah

Rev. Emmanuel Niiquaye
Nana Opoku Fosu Gyeabour II
Emmanuel Frimpong
Nii Otoo Larkyne
Osei Boakye-Yiadom

Corporate Awards

Malta Guinness Ghana Limited

Adamus/Nguvu Mining 


SWAG President's Award

Dr Kwame Kyei - Nations FC
Yaw Ampofo Ankrah

SWAG Journalist of the Year

Gary Al-Smith