Prime News Ghana

GFA Presidency: Osei Palmer files appeal, urges supporters to remain calm

By Vincent Ashitey
Osei Palmer
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Disqualified Ghana Football Association presidential aspirant Wilfred Osei Kweku Palmer has submitted his appeal to the Ghana Football Association.

The appeal which was filed today, October 7 is in conformity with a window of opportunity granted the candidate after he was disqualified from contesting in this month’s FA Presidential election.

Palmer took to his social media page to confirm he has appealed the decision to be disqualified from contesting for the vacant FA seat and also urged his supporters to remain calm as they await the verdict.

"We have successfully filed an appeal against the Elections committee's decision to disqualify Osei Palmer from the GFA presidential election race. We once again urge our supporters to remain calm as we await the decision of the appeals committee."

The Tema Youth bankroller last Friday was disqualified on the grounds of a breach on Article 33(5)(c) of the GFA general regulations which stipulates clubs to pay a percentage in the transfer of players.

Osei Kweku Palmer was also disqualified following the ruling of the ethics committee of the Association in December 2017 for comments he made on the Black Stars inability to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

His appeal is to challenge the two decisions of the vetting committee that sort to thwart his Ghana FA ambition.

The football administrator was the only one among the six other personalities contesting for the vacant GFA presidency disqualified from the race after the normalisation Committee published names of those deemed fit to vie for GHA elections.

A GFA statement read: The Normalisation Committee acting as the Elections Committee for the 2019 GFA Presidential and Executive Council elections has received the recommendations of the Vetting Committee.

By their recommendations, the following have passed as candidates for the respective positions:

  1. President
  • Amanda Clinton
  • George Ankoma Mensah
  • Nana Yaw Amponsah
  • Kurt Edwin Simeon Okraku
  • George Afriyie
  • Frederick Pappoe
  1. Executive Council Members- Premier
  • Anthony Aubynn
  • Nana Sarfo Oduro
  • Mr Albert Commey Aryettey
  • Mr Frederick Moore
  • Frederick Acheampong
  • George Amoakoh
  1. Executive Council Members – Division One
  • Abdul Karimu Ahmed
  • Otuo Acheampong Barima Boadu
  • Kweku Abaka Eyiah
  • Eric Oppong Yeboah
  • Ransford Abbey
  • Justice Boison
  • Samuel Anim Addo
  • Gideon Fosu
  • Mark Addo

Executive Council members – Women

  • Rosalind Amoh
  • Edna Quagraine
  • Evelyn Nsiah Asare
  • Habiba Atta Forson
  1. RFA Chairpersons:
  • Ralph Gyambrah                                     – Brong Ahafo
    • Charles Anton                                – Brong Ahafo
    • Daniel Agbogah                              – Volta Region
  • Linford Boadu Asamoah                         – Eastern Region
  • Nana Kwadwo Budu                                – Eastern Region
  • Emmanuel Ankamah                              – Greater Accra Region
  • Samuel Aboabire                                      – Greater Accra Region
  • Eugene Jacquaye                                      – Greater Accra Region
  • Albert Nana Arthur                                  – Greater Accra Region
  • Robert Duncan Otieku                              - Central Region
  • Daudi Sudugu Yahaya                              – Upper West Region
  • Hamidu Seidu Bomison                           - Upper West Region
  • Alhaji Moro Ahmed Baba                     – Upper West Region
  • Salifu Shaibu Zida                                 – Upper East Region
  • Mohammed Munkaelu Jnr. Attiah      – Upper East Region
  • Abu-Alhassan Mahamadu                      – Northern Region
  • Karimu Umar Farouk                              – Northern Region
  • Osei Tutu Agyeman                                 – Ashanti Region
  • Fred Osei                                                    – Western Region
  • Simon Ehomah                                          - Western Region
  • James Asiedu Kainyah                             – Western Region
  • Mark Bismark Owusu                              – Western Region

However the following aspirants were unsuccessful and have been duly informed by the Elections Committee  :

  1. Wilfred Kweku Osei – Aspirant for president
  2. Alhaji Fuseini Mahama – Aspirant for Western Region RFA Chairman
  3. Roy Arthur – Aspirant for Central Region RFA Chairman