Prime News Ghana

Nigeria records 5 more coronavirus cases, announces travel ban

By Mutala Yakubu
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Nigeria has placed a travel ban on people coming from 13 countries worst affected by the coronavirus outbreak as five new cases were recorded in Africa's most-populous nation.

That brings the country's total number of patients with Covid-19 to eight.

Health Minister Osagie Ehanire said contact tracing for the new cases was ongoing. All the five had travelled to the UK and/or the US.

READ ALSO: Kenya confirms three more coronavirus cases

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) tweeted about the cases, urging Nigerians to remain calm:

Travellers from China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, the US, Norway, the UK, the Netherlands and Switzerland will not be able to come to the West African from Saturday 21 March.

Nigerians have also been advised to cancel or postpone all non-essential travel to these countries, which all have reported more than 1,000 cases.

The BBC's Chris Ewokor in the capital, Abuja, says Nigerians returning to the country must now self-isolate for 14 days.

On Tuesday, the government also placed an indefinite ban on all public officials from embarking on foreign trips, he says.

Source: BBC