Prime News Ghana

A five-member Police committee to investigate Ayawaso West Violence

By Justice Kofi Bimpeh
Masked security men at Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The Ghana Police Service has formed a five-member committee to investigate last week’s Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election violence.

The committee headed by ACP George Tweneboah, Deputy-Director-General will cover the professional and criminal conduct of those involved in the incident.

A statement signed by Director General of Public Affairs, ACP Mr David Eklu, said personnel from Police Professional Standards Bureau, Police Legal and Prosecution Directorate, Police Operations as well as detectives from the Police Crime Scene Unit and Airport Division have joined the probe.

The by-election of the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency on January 31 was characterised by violence, police report says 16 persons were injured by the incident.

Read also: Ayawaso West by-election: Minority boycotts NPP's Lydia Alhassan's swearing-in

Some masked security men suspected to be from the National Security Council storm the La Baweleshie polling station and assaulted some voters including the MP for Ningo-Prampram Sam George. The NDC withdraw from the election and refused to recognise the NPP candidate Lydia Alhassan who emerge winner of the election as the duly elected MP for the area.

 The police after days of the sad incident has formed a committee to unravel circumstances leading to the shooting of some Ghanaians on the election day.

Read also: Annul Ayawaso West Wuogon results - NDC tells EC

Statement below: