Prime News Ghana

2020 elections : Nana Agyenim Boateng to challenge disqualification in court

By Justice Kofi Bimpeh
Nana Agyenim Boateng
Nana Agyenim Boateng
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Nana Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party, UFP who was disqualified by the Electoral Commission to contest the 2020 elections says he will challenge the decision in court.

According to him, the EC did not notify him of the various issues raised against those who endorsed his nomination form.

"The EC is not serious how can you tell me that somebody who has endorsed me has written to you that he does not know me, Why don't you bring the fellow in my presence or notify me to meet the person one on one, I will take them to court."

The EC yesterday giving an update on the nominations of the aspirants stated that it will refund the GH¢100,000 filing fee of the five disqualified aspirants.

The EC on October 19, 2020, disqualified five aspirants from contesting the presidential election for 2020.

EC Chair Jean Mensa who announced this even though these five have been disqualified their monies will be given back to them.

"Your filing fees of GH¢100,000 will be refunded to you".

Five out of the 17 presidential aspirants who submitted their nomination forms with the hope of contesting in the 2020 polls have been disqualified by the Electoral Commission.

The five include two independent presidential nominees; Kofi Koranteng and Marricke Kofi Gane, and three political party-sponsored nominees; Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP), Kwasi Busumbru of the People’s Action Party (PAP), and Nana Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP).

READ ALSO : 2020 Election: Odike accuses EC of conspiring with gov't to disqualify him

The Returning Officer for the 2020 presidential election, Jean Mensa made this known at the Electoral Commission’s Let the People Know Forum on Monday, October 19, 2020.

Below is the full list of presidential candidates who sailed through:
Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker – Independent candidate
Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo – NPP
Christian Kwabena Andrews – GUM
Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku – PPP
John Dramani Mahama – NDC
Akua Donkor – GFP
Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings – NDP
Hassan Ayariga – APC
Ivor Kobina Greenstreet – CPP
Henry Herbert Lartey – GCPP
Percival Kofi Akpaloo – LPG
David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera – PNC