Prime News Ghana

E-Levy: Minority descends on Clerk of Parliament for recording some MPs absent, Speaker intervenes

By Justice Kofi Bimpeh
Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu
Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The minority has descended on the Clerk of Parliament for recording some MPs absent during Tuesday's proceedings that saw the passage of the controversial E-Levy.

The Minority side was also not happy about the inability of the Clerk to capture their walkout from the chamber on the day.

Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu said due to the misreporting of the said MPs being absent their political fortunes will be on the line.

He explained that there are already media reports that the said MPs wer absent and their constituents will be betrayed in relation to their stance on E-Levy.

"The political fortunes of my colleagues who have been mistakenly misreported as absent... We endangering even their lives to constituents who may feel betrayed by them for not standing with them in their objection to this matter (E-Levy). We want it published... and Mr. Speaker in the world of social media which has become a toxic source of misinformation I fear for the life and political standing of my members who have been misreported as absent"


E-Levy: Minority heads to Supreme Court

But the Speaker intervened and asked for the said errors to be corrected. He further apologized to the MPs who were mistakenly captured as absent.

"I acknowledged and appreciate the emotional way this thing was presented and I totally sympathize with you, as a stated this is a draft."

Eight (8) Members of Parliament on the side of the Minority National Democratic Congress (NDC) were marked absent from Parliament on Tuesday even before the Minority walkout on the E-Levy vote.

Records of Parliament show that in addition to MP for Dome Kwabenya (NPP) and Assin North MP (NDC) who were both absent for stated reasons, 7 other NDC MPs were not included in the list of MPs present in Parliament before the Minority walkout.

Records say the following NDC MPs and one NPP MP were absent on March 29:

Abdul-Latif Dan (Ablekuma Central)
Abdul-Salam Adams (New Edubiase)
Amankwa Nicholas (Amenfi East)
Avoka Cletus Apul (Zebilla)
Boateng Joseph Appiah (Afram Plains South)
Ofosu-Adjare Elizabeth (Techiman North)
Quayson James Gyakye (Assin North)
Safo Sarah Adwoa (Dome/Kwabenya)
Sukparu, Adam Mohammed (Sissala West)