Prime News Ghana

NPP flagbearership race: Kennedy Agyapong to submit nomination forms today

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The Member of Parliament for Assin Central constituency, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong is expected to file his nomination forms today, June 21, 2023.

He will submit the form at exactly 1 pm at the New Patriotic Party (NPP) headquarters at Asylum Down.

He announced this in a tweet on Tuesday, June 20, 2023.

So far 5 candidates have filed their nomination forms.

They include Vice President Mahamudu Bawumia, Alan Kyeremateng, former minister of trade and industry, Dr Akoto Afriyie, former minister for food and agriculture, Dr Konadu Apraku, economist and former Minister for regional cooperation and Boakye Agyarko, former minister for energy.

The NPP opened nominations for the Presidential Primary on May 26, 2023, and will close them on June 24, 2023.

At the close of nominations on Saturday 24 June 2023, if more than five (5) aspirants who have picked up their forms go ahead to file, that will mean that the NPP will be holding its “Super Delegate Conference” on Saturday 26 August 2023 as planned.

These five aspirants will then compete on November 4, 2023, to determine the NPP's flagbearer for the 2024 General Election.