Prime News Ghana

George Afriyie concedes defeat as Kurt Okraku is elected GFA President

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Kurk Okraku has been elected the President of Ghana Football Association for the next four years.

The Dreams FC owner succeeds former capo Kwesi Nyantakyi who was banned from all football-related activities following the airing of Anas expose documentary titled "Number 12".

It is the first time in over 13 years that the GFA have had a President other than Kwesi Nyantakyi.

After the first round of voting, Kurt Okraku secured 44, George Afriyie 40, Fred Pappoe 6, Nana Yaw Amponsah 27, Amanda Clinton and George Ankomah Mensah had 0 each.

With no candidates getting the 50% plus one vote it forced for a runoff. 

Following the rerun, Kurt Okraku pulled 59 votes, George Afriyie and Nana Yaw Amponsah had 43 and 16 votes respectively.

This forced elections into the third round.

George conceded defeat midway into the third run of voting.

However, the voting went ahead with Mr Kurt Okraku as the sole candidate which saw him secure 93 votes to emerge as the winner of the elections.

He will serve an initial four-year term with an additional four-year term if re-elected into office.

Under the new GFA statues, a President can occupy the position for only a 2-term of office of 4 years of which he cannot compete again.

With the election of the new leader, it brings the work of the interim body, the Normalisation Committee to an end who have been in office for over a year.

READ ALSO: Great Olympics, King Faisal to play in 2019/20 Ghana Premier League