Prime News Ghana

See the 36 athletes to represent Ghana at 2023 African Games

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Ghana Athletics has named a 36-member contingent of athletes and 8 coaches to represent the country at the 2023 African Games, scheduled for March 4-23, 2024, in Accra.

The 36 athletes comprise 21 men and 15 women and eight coaches made up of six men and two women.

In a statement issued and signed by Ms Philippina Frimpong, Chief Executive Officer of Ghana Athletics explained that the team selection was conducted meticulously, adhering to the 2024 Ghana Athletics Selection Policy and Qualifying Standards.

The male team include Benjamin Kwaku Azamati (100 and 4x100m), Joseph Paul Amoah (200 and 4x100m), Solomon Hammond (200 and 4x100m), Ibrahim Fuseini (200 and 4x100m), Edwin Kwabla Gadayi (200 and 4x100m), Seth Arthur (20km race walk), John Domici Dadzie (20km race walk) And Solomon Diafo

Others are Raymond French (400 and 4x400m) Frank Addo (400 and 4x400m), Dompey Barnabas (400 hurdles), James Dadzie (4x100m), Sarfo Ansah (4x100m) Joshua Bour (4x400m) Alex Amankwah (800 and 400m) Bugase Rexford (Discos).

Also, Cadman Evans Yamoah (High Jump), Ebenezer Gyimah (High Jump), Abraham Seaneke (Long Jump), Antiedu Peter (400m hurdles) , And William Amponsah (Half/Marathon) would represent Ghana at the Games.</p>


Benedicta Kwartemaa (100 and 4X100m), Mary Boakye (100 and 4X100m), Hor Halutie (100 and 4X100m), Janet Mensah (4X100m), Deborah Acheampong (4X100m), Doris Mensah (100H and 4X100m), Latifa Ali (200 and 4X100m and 4X400m), and Grace Aduntira (400 and 4X400m) were named in the female team.

The rest are Lovina Ewusi (200 and 4X400) Grace Obuor (400 and 4X400m), Bridget Annan (4X400m), Sandrah Appiah (4X400m), Asana Hamidu (400m hurdles and 4X400m), Sarah Koomson (5000m) and Esther Obenewaa (High Jump).

The 8-member coaching team include William Akoka, Salamatu Musa, Appiah Kubi, Eric Goloe, Eric Nkansah, Georgina Sowah, Ignatius Gaisah and Harry Adu-Mfum.