Prime News Ghana

U-23 AFCON: Ibrahim Danlad, William Dankyi named in Black Meteors 21-man squad for tourney

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Asante Kotoko shot-stopper Ibrahim Danlad and Hearts of Oak's William Dankyi have named in the Black Meteors 21-man squad for CAF U-23 AFCON tournament.

The duo is among the 9 locals lads and 12 foreign-based players included in coach Ibrahim Tanko's 21-man to represent Ghana at the U-23 tournament to be staged in Egypt.

The Black Meteors are currently training in Accra and expected to leave the country on Monday to Egypt for the tournament which runs from 8-22 November.

The Black Meteors of Ghana have been drawn in Group A with hosts Egypt, Mali and Cameroon.

Ghana opens her campaign against Cameroon on the opening day before facing Egypt and Mali on 11 and 14 November respectively.

READ ALSO: U-23 AFCON: Kurt Okraku visits Black Meteors ahead of tournament (PHOTOS) ...

The top three finishers at the final tournament will qualify to represent Africa at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Ghana is seeking a return to the competition since its last appearance in 2004 in the Athens Olympic Games.


Kwame Baah (Asante Kotoko SC, Ghana)
Richmond Ayi (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)
Ibrahim Danlad (Asante Kotoko SC, Ghana)


Kingsley Fobi (CB Badajoz, Spain)
Edward Sarpong (Esperanca de Lagos, Spain)
Emmanuel Cudjoe (Attram De Visser, Ghana)
Fuseini Zackaria (Berekum Chelsea, Ghana)
William Dankyi (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)
Habib Mohammed (Asante Kotoko SC, Ghana)
Robin Polley (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands)


Evans Osei Wusu (Tema Youth FC, Ghana)
Simon Zibo (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal)
Nurudeen Abdul-Aziz (Vision FC, Ghana)
Emmanuel Lomotey (Extremadura UD, Spain)
Yaw Yeboah (Celta Vigo B, Spain)
Evans Mensah (HJK Helsinki, Finland)
Michael Agbekpornu (Dreams FC, Ghana)

READ ALSO:  U-23 AFCON: None of our opponents scare us - Ghana's asst. coach 


Frank Arhin (Dalkurd FF, Sweden)
Kwabena Owusu (Cordoba CF, Spain)
Ropapa Mensah (Nashville SC, USA)
Samuel Obeng Gyabaa (Real Oviedo, Spain)