MTN,UBA CEO's adjudged 2016 CIMG Marketing Personalities of the year

By Muhammed Ali

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Mobile Telecommunication Network (MTN), Ebenezer Twum Asante was adjudged the Marketing Man of the year, while Mrs Abiola Bawuah, CEO of United Bank for Africa (UBA) was pronounced Marketing Woman of the Year at the 28th edition of the Chartered Institute of Marketing Ghana (CIMG) Awards in Accra.

Mr Clifford Mettle, Director Marketing and alternate channel and Ms Lorlonyo Nuworsu, Client Relationship Officer at the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA) were also awarded Marketing Practioner of the Year and Marketing Student of the Year respectively.

Accepting the award,Mr Twum Asante said he was honoured to be selected as the winner amongst a list of reputable nominees and noted that the award will only encourage him to drive the MTN brand to achieve to achieve greater laurels.

He said MTN as a brand believes every Ghanaian deserves the benefit of a modern connected life that will drive the country's socio-economic transformation.

"We cannot rest until Ghana also attains a digital economy driving the efficiencies of ICT and most importantly the transparency that comes with automated and digital business," he said.

According to him, ICT is the necessary antidote required to win the fight against corruption in the country.

He dedicated the award to true hard working Ghanaians who go the extra mile to protect their professional integrity while pursuing excellence in their professional pursuit.

For her part, Mrs Abiola expressed appreciation to the organisers of the awards and her staff for making it possible to win the award.

"As an individual, I May have done my best but there is no way I could have done that alone, In was just lucky to have a strong team from the UBA family," she said

Below are the list of the Award winners

Special Award - Seth Kwame Boateng,

                     -  Ethel Marfo


Indigenous Catering Facility of the Year - Azmera

Hospitality Facility of the Year - Golden Tulip Kumasi City

Rural Bank of the Year – Odotobiri Rural Bank

Savings and loans company of the Year – Bonds  savings and loans

Finance house of the year - IZWE Loans

Microfinance company of the year - Nationwide Microfinance

Bank of the Year - Ecobank

Motor Firm of the Year – Japan Motors

Media Organisation of the Year – Multimedia Group Ltd

Petroleum Company of the Year – Goil Ghana

Telecom Company of the Year – MTN

Telecom Allied and Support Services - Spearhead Network Solutions

Insurance Company of the Year (General) – Star Assurance

Insurance Company of the Year (Life) – SIC Life

Marketing Oriented Company of the Year – MTN

Airline of the Year (Domestic) – Africa World

Airline of the Year (International) – Ethiopia Airlines

Manufacturing Company of the Year – Wilma Africa Ltd

Agro-based Company of the Year – Accra Composte and Recycle Plant

Retail Outlet of the Year – Electro Mart (Somovision)


Brand Activation Programme of the Year – Unilever World Oral Day (Pepsodent)

TV Programme of the Year – Vodafone Healthline

Radio Programme of the Year – Citi Breakfast Show

Radio Advert of the Year – Latest Foam( U dey do yourself)

TV Advert of the Year – Vodafone (Ye Twii k) )

Print Adevert of the Year -  Vodafone

Outdoor Advertising of the Year - Airtel Flex

E-Commerce of the a Year - Jumia

Emerging Digital Media Organisation - Citi FM

Emerging Brand of the Year - RMG Ghana

Product of the Year - Nestle (Milo)

Hall of Fame

Hotel Facilities  (Allied and Support Services)- Yoks Investment

Insurance Company of the Year - Enterprise Insurance
                                                 Vanguard Assurance

Elite Category
Retail Outlet   -  Melcom Group of Companies
Motor Firm     -   Toyota Ghana

Marketing Personality

CIMG Marketing Student of the Year - Lorlonyo Nuworsu (Client Relationship Officer, NHIA)

Marketing Practioner of the Year - Mr Clifford Mettle (Dir Marketing and alternate channel)

Marketing Woman of the Year - Mrs Abiola Bawuah(CEO, UBA Bank)

Marketing man of the Year - Mr Ebenezer Twum Asante (CEO, MTN)