Prime News Ghana

EC okays NPP, NDC, CPP & JOY for Dec 7 polls; PPP, PNC, NDP, APC, GCPP, others disqualified

By Jeffrey Owusu-Mensah
EC Chairperson, Charlotte Osei
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The Electoral Commission (EC) has disclosed that only four of the seventeen presidential nomination forms have qualified to participate in the December 7 presidential elections.

The qualified candidates are Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), President John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) and Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent candidate.

Apart from Akwasi Addae 'Odike' of the United Peoples Party (UPP) all the other persons who picked nomination forms have been disqualified.

According to the Chairperson of the EC, Madam Charlotte Osei, because Mr Addae's party was challenging his candidacy they had not vetted his nomination and were giving him up to Friday, October 14 to sort out his issues with the party.

Addressing the media on Monday, she stated that the disqualification of the other candidates was based their inability to fulfil the requirements of the CI 94, the consitutional provision regulating the conduct of the upcoming polls.

The aberrations on the nomination forms ranged from false declarations by subscribers, inability to get required number of endorsements, wrongful signatures to outright failure of the candidates to complete the forms.

The disqualified candidates include, Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP), Hassan Ayariga of the All Peoples Congress (APC), Dr Edward Mahama of Peoples National Convention (PNC), Dr Henry Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings of National Democratic Party (NDP), and Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party (GFP).

The rest are Nana Agyenim Boateng of the United Freedom Party (UFP), Thomas Nuako Ward-Brew of the Democratic Peoples Party (DPP), Richard Nixon Tetteh of the United Systems Development of the Party (USDP), Kofi Apaloo of the Independent Peoples Party (IPP), Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD), and  Kwame Asiedu Walker, an idependent candidate.

For Akwasi Addae 'Odike' of the United Peoples Party (UPP), Madam Osei stated that because there was a dispute his party was disputing his candidacy in court, they could not vet his forms and were giving him up till Friday, October 14 to sort out his issues so the Commission could vet his documents.