Prime News Ghana

Christopher Arthur defeats incumbent Cynthia Morrison to win Agona West NPP Parliamentary Primary

By primenewsghana
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Cynthia Morrison, the incumbent Member of Parliament for Agona West, lost the New Patriotic Party’s parliamentary primary on Saturday, April 13.

Madam Morrison garnered 152 votes, while Christopher Arthur emerged victorious with 240 votes, securing the nomination as the NPP’s parliamentary candidate.

Ben Yamoah polled 221 votes, Yawson Otoo received 168, and Joseph Afrankwa grabbed 155 votes.

In the 2020 elections, she contested as the NPP parliamentary candidate and was elected for a second four-year term, garnering 30,513 votes out of 59,193 valid votes.

However, her defeat in the recent primary marks a significant shift in the political landscape of the  Agona West constituency.