NDC Race: 6 aspirants call on NEC to address lapses in guidelines

By Mutala Yakubu
NDC Race: 6 aspirants call on NEC to address lapses in guidelines

Six flagbearer aspirants of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) are calling on the National Election Committee (NEC) of the party to address some lapses in the guidelines for the conduct of the party’s presidential election.

The six say there are some lapses in the guidelines for the elections and that must be addressed with urgency.

In a letter dated February 10, 2019, and signed by Dr. Yaw Ato on behalf of the Aspirants Technical Committee, they called for all lapses in the guidelines to be cleared to ensure that the electoral process was free and fair.

The six aspirants are Mr. Alban Bagbin, Professor Joshua Alabi, Mr. Sylvester Mensah, Mr. Augustus Tanoh, Mr. Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, and Mr. Nurudeen Iddrisu.

Former President John Dramani Mahama is the seventh candidate but is not part of the six petitioners.

The NDC presidential election is scheduled for February 23, 2019.


Representatives of the six presidential aspirants served a warning to the top brass of the party of an imminent “chaotic” and “controversial” election that might lead to disruptions in the electoral calendar of the party.

According to the representatives of the six, who are part of a joint technical committee, despite a series of engagements and repeated assurances of good faith from the leadership of the party, much was not being achieved with regard to making sufficient progress towards a free and fair poll.

A letter signed by three representatives of the six aspirants, Dr. Yaw Akoto, Abdul-Nasser Alidu, and Victor Kwadjoga Adawusu, dated February 5, 2019, and copied to the Chairman of the Elections Committee of the NDC, Mr. Kofi Attoh, said “issues are not being adequately discussed and conclusions documented. Electoral processes are not following logical progression”.

The letter was equally copied to the General Secretary of the party, Mr. Johnson Asiedu Nketia; the Chairman, Mr. Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo, as well as the Chairman of the Council of Elders of the party, former President Jerry John Rawlings.

Read also: