Prime News Ghana

NPP flagbearership race: Kwabena Agyapong files nomination forms

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Kwabena Agyapong, the former General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), has taken a significant step in his political journey by submitting his nomination forms for the party's presidential candidacy.

He filed on Wednesday, June 21, at the party’s headquarters. 

Addressing the media shortly after his filing, he charged the party to desist of the use of empty slogans and rather find innovative solutions to the challenges facing Ghana.

Mr. Agyapong passionately spoke about his vision for Ghana, emphasizing the importance of inclusivity, economic growth, and sustainable development.

He stated that his mission is to cultivate a nation of public-spirited citizens led by politicians committed to serving the public's interests.

"Our country deserves a new dawn, a new direction, and a new face that can connect with the Ghanaian people, restore their confidence in the constitution, and be their representative," he said

With Mr. Agyapong's submission, the total number of hopefuls vying for the party's flagbearer position has reached 6. Among them are Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, former Minister of Trade Alan Kyerematen, former Minister of Energy Boakye Agyarko, Dr. Konadu Apraku, and former Minister of Agriculture Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto.

The NPP has scheduled the election of a flagbearer for November 4, 2023, ahead of the 2024 general elections.

However, due to the presence of more than five candidates in the primaries, the party has decided to hold a Special Congress on August 26 to prune it down to five.