Prime News Ghana

AFCON 2021 qualifiers: Ghana joined in Group C by São Tomé and Príncipe

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The Black Stars of Ghana have been joined in Group C by São Tomé and Príncipe for the AFCON 2021 qualifiers.

The Central African country beat Mauritius 3-1 away from home before completing the task with a 2-1 victory at home to earn a spot in the final phase of the AFCON 2021 qualifiers.

Group C is now made up of four-time AFCON winners Ghana, South Africa, Sudan and São Tomé and Príncipe ranked 190th in the world.

The first round of qualifiers are scheduled for November with Ghana hosting South Africa at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium while and São Tomé and Príncipe while be locking horns with Sudan.

In all 48 qualified teams have been divided into 12 groups of four teams each and the top two sides from each group will earn a ticket to the 2021 AFCON to be staged in Cameroun.

NB: Cameroun, have an automatic spot in the tournament, but will take part to gain competitive match practice

Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Chad
Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, South Sudan
Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe
Group D: DR Congo, Gabon, Angola,The Gambia
Group E: Morocco, Mauritania, Central African Republic, Burundi
Group F: Cameroun (Q), Cape Verde, Mozambique, Rwanda
Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros
Group H: Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana
Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Eswatini
Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea
Group K: Cote d’Ivoire, Niger, Madagascar, Ethiopia
Group L: Nigeria, Benin, Sierra Leone, Lesotho