Prime News Ghana

Ghana names team for CAA Region II Athletics Championship in Accra

By primenewsghana
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The Ghana Athletics (GA) has announced its team for the upcoming CAA Region II Athletics Championship, scheduled to take place at the University of Ghana Sports Stadium from June 4 to 5.

The team, comprising the nation's top athletes, is poised to make a strong impression at the championship, which serves as a qualifier for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

The selected athletes drawn for the security services, universities and clubs have been training intensively and are determined to bring glory to Ghana. The team's lineup includes seasoned athletes like Hor Harlutie, Mary Boakye, Helena Mensah, Sarfo Ansah, Edwin Gadayi and others who have consistently delivered impressive performances on the international stage.

The GAA is confident that this team has what it takes to excel in the championship and make Ghana proud

The association has been working tirelessly to ensure that the athletes receive the best support and preparation for the competition.

Ghana is hosting the CAA Region II Athletics Championship for the 2nd time, and the country is eager to showcase its athletic prowess to the region after an impressive hosting of the African Games.

The two-day event promises to be an exciting display of speed, strength, and endurance, with athletes from 15 countries vying for top honors.

The Ghana Athletics wishes the team the best of luck and calls on Ghanaians to come out in force to support their athletes at the University of Ghana Sports Stadium on June 4 and 5."

Team List below:




Grace Aduntira

Juliana Sakat Lariba

Esther Obenewaa

Abusuare Alhare

Deborah Acheampong

Halutie Hor

Mary Boakye

Naseera Efua Quansah

Janet Mensah

Asana Amidu


Bridget Annan

Mariama Fatao

Faustina Owusu

Adongo Selina




Edwin Kwabla Gadayi

Sarfo Ansah

Sadiq Aloo

Musa Iddrisu

Otchere Mensah

Isreal Anane Dome

William Amponsah

Kofi Joseph Andoh

Peter Antiedu

Kennedy Ocansey

Rexford Bugase

Evans Cadman Yeboah

Solomon Diafo

Daniel Yaw Mantey Otibu

David Nakousí

Gabriel Asare Teye