Prime News Ghana

NPP flagbearership race: Afriyie Akoto, Boakye Agyarko file nomination forms 

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Former Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto and former Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko are the latest to file their nomination forms to contest in the NPP’s Presidential Primary.

The two submitted their forms on Monday, June 19 after former Trade Minister Alan Kyerematen and Vice President Dr Mahamadu Bawumia filed theirs last week.

Speaking to journalists after the filing, Dr Akoto urged party members to come on board in order to help ‘Break the 8’ come December 2024.

He said the party can only win Election 2024 with a united front.

“You cannot break the 8 with half an egg. It has to be the full egg and everybody in this party is important in this respect, especially the delegates who have been given the constitutional powers to choose a flagbearer of this party.

“I hope that at the end of the day, we will be given the opportunity for delegates to listen to us and make the right choice so that this party can retain power come 2024”.

Touching on the small team of people who escorted him to the party office, Dr. Afriyie Akoto said his supporters came on their own volition.

According to him, his campaign team did not bus or hire big buses to convey people to the party’s headquarters.

“Let me say here that everybody who has come here including representatives of farmers, are here on their own accord, you cannot see any bused crowd or any big commercial vehicle bringing people to come and support.

“People have come on their own volition and own conviction that my candidature will be good for the people of Ghana and the NPP and I am very grateful,” the former Agric Minister added.

Meanwhile, Mr. Boakye Agyarko who is also a former policy adviser of the party, and the first aspirant to pick forms says he is ready to serve.

The NPP opened nominations for the Presidential Primary on May 26, 2023, and will close them on June 24, 2023.

Currently, a total of 10 presidential aspirants, including prominent figures like Mr Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen and Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, have picked nomination forms to compete for the NPP's flagbearer position.

The Party plans to hold a Special Delegates Congress on August 26, 2023, to select the top five candidates. These five aspirants will then compete on December 4, 2023, to determine the NPP's flagbearer for the 2024 General Election.