Prime News Ghana

AFCON 2021 qualifiers: Mohammed Salisu ruled out of Black Stars' doubleheader

By Vincent Ashitey
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Real Valladolid centre-back Mohammed Salisu has pulled out of the Black Stars squad for the upcoming AFCON 2021 qualifiers doubleheader against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe due to injury.

The 20-year is the latest member to withdraw from Ghana's doubleheader against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe on Thursday and Monday respectively.

Salisu was among the 7 players handed a maiden call-up to the Black Stars but unfortunately, he will be missing in action for Ghana's two matches this weekend and will have to wait until next year to possible play his debut game for the four-time AFCON champions. 

READ ALSO:  AFCON 2021 Qualifiers: Botswana sacks 4 players caught drinking alcohol ...

"Salisu will have to wait for his debut with the Ghanaian national team," Valladolid have announced on their official website.

"The left-hander, who has had a dragging back discomfort for several weeks, reported sharp pain in the lower back after the game against Deportivo Alavés that requires sports rest.

"In this way, the representatives of Real Valladolid with the international teams will be Pedro Porro (Spain U21), Lunin (Ukraine), Enes Unal (Turkey) and El Hacen (Mauritania)."

Salisu earned his first call-up after a run of fine performances for Valladolid in La Liga.

READ ALSO:  AFCON 2021 qualifiers: Black Stars begin training today ahead of South Africa clash ...

Black Stars will take on the Bafana Bafana of South Africa on  Thursday, November 14 at the Cape Coast Stadium at 7:00 pm. The team will next travel to play Sao Tome and Principe on November 14.

The Black Stars yesterday held their maiden training at the Accra Sports Stadium and the team is expected to leave to Cape Coast today to continue with the rest of their preparations.

Only 13 players reported for training on Monday. The list include Captain Andre Ayew, Jordan Ayew, Torric Jebrin, Emmanuel Boateng, Patrick Twumasi, Samuel Owusu, Gideon Mensah, Kassim Nuhu, Fatawu Mohammed, Shafiu Mumuni, Felix Annan, Richard Ofori and Razak Abalora.