Prime News Ghana

I will not use loyalists to run Ghana Football - Kurt Okraku assures Ghanaians

By Justice Kofi Bimpeh
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

Newly elected Ghana Football Association, GFA President Kurt Okraku has assured Ghanaians he will not use loyalists to run the association for the next four years of his administration.

Responding to a question of Joy FM's NewsFile about how he is going to handle the perception already out there that he will use his loyalists to run the GFA, Kurt Okraku said he has demonstrated beyond reasonable doubts that he is the man who believes in quality and will not use his loyalists to run the GFA.

"I think that by and large I have demonstrated beyond reasonable doubts that I believe in quality and so do the President of the land, I believe in bringing people with different qualities, different opinion positions together to be able to build and the basis have shown that with my Dreams FC project and the MTN FA CUP but this journey is totally different from what we are talking about anyway, I believe in harnessing all the people we have in this country and to ensure that we are able to build an industry that will be envy for many people..."

READ ALSO : SWAG congratulates newly elected GFA President Kurt Okraku

  Kurt Okraku also stated that he is committed to bringing back the passion of Ghana Football and he will begin now.

New GFA President

Kurk Okraku was yesterday elected the President of Ghana Football Association for the next four years.

The Dreams FC owner succeeds former capo Kwesi Nyantakyi who was banned from all football-related activities following the airing of Anas expose documentary titled "Number 12".

It is the first time in over 13 years that the GFA have had a President other than Kwesi Nyantakyi.

After the first round of voting, Kurt Okraku secured 44, George Afriyie 40, Fred Pappoe 6, Nana Yaw Amponsah 27, Amanda Clinton and George Ankomah Mensah had 0 each.

READ ALSO : GFA Presidency: I take inspiration from Shatta Wale - Kurt Okraku

With no candidates getting the 50% plus one vote it forced for a runoff. Following the rerun, Kurt Okraku pulled 59 votes, George Afriyie and Nana Yaw Amponsah had 43 and 16 votes respectively.

This forced elections into the third round. George conceded defeat midway into the third run of voting.

However, the voting went ahead with Mr Kurt Okraku as the sole candidate which saw him secure 93 votes to emerge as the winner of the elections.

He will serve an initial four-year term with an additional four-year term if re-elected into office.

Under the new GFA statues, a President can occupy the position for only a 2-term of office of 4 years of which he cannot compete again.

With the election of the new leader, it brings the work of the interim body, the Normalisation Committee to an end who have been in office for over a year.