Social media giant Facebook has rolled out a new feature "Secret Conversations" in it Messenger App which will ensure that only two people involve in a conversation can see the text.
Over 1 billion Messenger users now have access to the feature, the feature uses end-to-end encryption, compared to WhatsApp, Viber, Line .With the new Messenger App if you're chatting in secret mode on a specific smartphone, you will lose the right to see previous messages on your desktop. Also Facebook also gives people the option to let specific messages within Secret Conversations expire after five seconds or up to a day -- a feature not unlike what's offered on Snapchat.
To freely enjoy Messengerâ€™s new feature, you'll need to make sure you install the latest version of the iOS and Android app to get it. Messages will only be kept secret if both users have the updated versions.
"We've heard from you that there are times when you want additional safeguards -- perhaps when discussing private information like an illness or a health issue with trusted friends and family, or sending financial information to an accountant," the company said earlier this year.
Even the government or Facebook itself won't have access to conversations in secret mode, according to the social network.