Avram Grant's likely squad list for AFCON 2017

By Jeffrey Owusu-Mensah
Coach Avram Grant

Ghana coach Avram Grant is expected to release a provisional squad list for the 2017 AFCON which comes off in Gabon next month in the coming week.

Pressure has mounted on the Israeli for the release of the list with the spokesperson of the Ghana Football Association (GFA), Ibrahim Sannie Daara going to his defence Monday.

According to him, it was unnecessary to put pressure on the coach since the release of the list at this moment was not going to add anything to the team's preparation.

But according to information primenewsghana has gathered, Coach Grant has his list almost ready.

Below is the likely provisional list:

Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Cordoba, Spain), Adam Kwarasey (Rosenborg, Norway) Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Andy Yiadom (Barnsley, England), Baba Rahman (Schalke, Germany), Jeffery Schlupp (Leicester City, England), John Boye (Sivasspor, Turkey), Jonathan Mensah (Anzhi, Russia), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England), Edwin Gyimah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Torino, Italy), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain)  Mubarak Wakaso (Panathinaikos, Greece), Kwadwo Asamoah (Juventus), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium), Christian Atsu (Newcastle, England), Alhassan Wakaso (Rio Ave, Portugal), Samuel Tetteh (Leifering, Austria), Latif Blessing (Liberty Professionals), Joseph Alfred Duncan (US Sassualo)

Forwards: Jordan Ayew (Aston Villa, England), Abdul-Majeed Waris (Lorient, France), David Accam (Chicago Fire), Andre Ayew (West Ham, England), Ebenezer Assifuah (Sion, Switzerland), Raphael Dwamena (Austria Lustenau), Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain)

There are 5 other players on a stand-by list, one of whom can potentially make the 30-man provisional squad that will be officially announced by the GFA next week.


Enoch Adu Kofi (Malmo FF)

Inusah Musah (Hearts of Oak)

Lawrence Ati Zigi (FC Liefering)

Isaac Coffie (Genoa)

Joseph Attamah (Istanbul )