Prime News Ghana

All set for NPP national executives elections

By primenewsghana
facebook sharing button Share
twitter sharing button Tweet
email sharing button Email
sharethis sharing button Share

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) goes to polls later today, Saturday, July 16 to elect new national executives for the next four years.

The election of the new leaders will climax this year’s National Delegates’ Conference to be held at the Accra Sports Stadium.

READ ALSO: Ayikoi Otoo withdraws from NPP chairmanship race

Over 7,000 delegates from across the party’s branches across the world will gather at the venue to select from 47 candidates.

The party will have a new National Chairman after almost seven years as Freddie Blay will not contest, having taken over from suspended Paul Awentami Afoko in 2015 in an acting role and given the mandate proper in 2018 in Koforidua.

Seven persons including the current National Treasurer, Kwabena Abankwa-Yeboah are contesting for the seat.

There will be elections for First, Second and Third Vice Chairman positions as well.

The General Secretary, John Boadu, is going for re-election for the second time, having taken over as well in 2015 in an acting role from Kwabena Agyei Agyepong and given the mandate proper in 2018.

Other positions up for grabs are the National Organiser, National Youth Organiser, National Women’s Organizer and Nasara Coordinator positions.