Prime News Ghana

11 declare intent to contest for NDC presidential slot

By Clement Edward Kumsah

Eleven members of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) have so far written to party executive expressing interest in leading the party into the 2020 elections.

They include former President John Dramani Mahama, former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA), Sylvester Mensah, Dr. Ekwow Spio Garbrah; a former Trade and Industry Minister; Former Vice Chancellor of the University for Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Prof. Joshua Alabi, Cape Coast South MP, Kweku Ricketts-Hagan and Goosie Tanoh.

The rest are, Alban Bagbin, Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Stephen Atubiga, member of NDC communications team; Elipklim Agbemava, a lawyer; David Doste Kwame Kuwadah; and a banker and oil and gas consultant, Nurideen Iddrisu.

The latest to join the list of hopefuls is former President John Mahama. John Mahama through former Ambassador to the US, Daniel Ohene Agyekum presented his letter of intent to contest in the NDC’s presidential primaries on August 23, 2018.

Stephen Atubiga

Elipklim Agbemava

Prof Joshua Alabi

Meanwhile, ninety-four (94) MPs out of 106 NDC Members of Parliament in July encouraged John Mahama to lead the NDC party in the 2020 elections.

The list was released today after John Mahama presented his letter of intent to contest the party’s presidential primaries.

Other News Healines